top of page

Location, Location, Location

Rules for Location Cards in Fame and Fiction


With the release of Clash Decks - Hamlet Vs Macbeth, the very first Location cards will be added to Fame & Fiction. Read on to learn everything there is to know about how to play with these exciting new additions.


Overview

So far, every card in Fame & Fiction is has been a character card. Locations are a new type of card that works in different ways to character cards.


ree

The first thing you'll notice is that Location cards look different to character cards. Location cards have a curved typeline in the center of the card and they have a red background on the rules text box.


Location cards will usually have a new type of ability called a "deplete ability". For example, the card on the left, Great Birnam Wood, has two deplete abilities.


Once a Location has flipped face-up, its deplete abilities may be used at any time you could flip another card.


You may activate more than one deplete ability in the same turn, but each deplete ability may only be used once while the Location is face-up on the board.


In order to activate a deplete ability, you must also spend friendly influence from the hex that the Location card is on. The amount you must spend is shown after the word "Deplete" at the beginning of the ability. For example, Great Birnam Wood has a "Deplete 1" ability. This means that, in order to activate that ability, you must remove 1 friendly influence from Great Birnam Wood's hex.

ree

When paying influence for a deplete ability, you may not spend all of the remaining influence on a hex. You must have enough influence on the hex that there will be at least 1 friendly influence remaining after you deplete it. For example, you may not deplete 1 from a hex that only has 1 friendly influence.


Face-up Location cards do not count as occupying a hex. Therefore, if a Location card is face-up on a friendly hex, you may play a character card on top of it as if the hex were empty.


When a character is played on the same hex as a Location or if a character moves to a hex with a Location, the Location is not considered "tucked" under that card. A character that moves from a hex with a Location to another hex will not take the Location with it.


When a player loses control of a friendly hex with a face-up Location on it (if the hex becomes neutral or becomes controlled by another player), that Location is destroyed in the same way a character would be. Similarly, at the end of each turn, Locations that are on neutral hexes or hexes controlled by another player are destroyed.


bottom of page